Converting all EXtra Paper into Mache

Make

There is so much to learn about painting. There so many fantastic painters too! For me, I consider the significance of intention and meaning, the foundations, and striving to make a new fresh piece still in the realm of what my studies are with water, life, and inspiration…

After a few years, honestly, I don’t think I’ll ever be one of those artist that’s going to “make it”, be sought after by museum collectors, and the obscenely rich… but slowly I am more inclined to realize for myself, that that’s not the measurement. There is no one way about getting “there” or over there, and even under there…. There is how it makes my heart feel, the language of an individual being in communication with the wider world, and communication with myself. And with painting these days, though I love it, my body has been really hurting me and my attention is limited at times, so it has led me to pick up a new project. One that gets me back. And it’s these silly little smiling creatures.

The point is that I put the love I have for making something new, something with hands, something with color, and spirit, and touches back on the precious world and other artist in all their different shapes and sizes for inspiration. I’m not the first to do animals, animal heads, or even close. I’m just sitting in my studio, going on walks, enjoying the process of getting my hands dirty and forming tiny faces. It makes me happy.

So, where will you find me as the days get colder and darker? Repurposing paper, newspapers, scraps, paper bags, to make creatures. All kinds of creatures. It is joy. Maybe someday I’ll make enough to sell online…or something like that….but for now, I will be offering them at Open Studios, Nov. 14th & 15th. At the upcoming Christmas show at the Big E Nov. 27th, 28th, &29th, and to my friends and family. These guys make me happy. I hope they make you smile too.

franimals 2015foxy 2015 beary much 2015

…..

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

Leave a Reply

