Commissioned puppy portrait

I thought perhaps it could be considered quite cliche that a young struggling artist take on the project of depicting someone’s dogs on the beach. I did, I’m sorry to admit that, but some of us who have been looking at art for a long time maybe consider that too. All of the kitch aside, this image is not as simple as that. Rumi and Taj are the beautiful dogs of a woman who has been supporting my work for several years.

Heather sent over many many images of Rumi and Taj and I pieced them together to come up with this image that also spoke to Heather’s own personal story and the beautiful companionship of these creatures. Besides being able to come up with a scene that I felt like encompassed the feeling of her and her dogs, I also got to use this work to create an image from someone else’s story, and that is what drives me as an artist. The human connection that comes from creative acts and the ability to attempt to transcribe something about someone else, seeing them and them looking right back.

Taj and Rumi 24" x 24"

Heather shared this poem with me from Mark Strand, that I didn’t quite have words for her to express my appreciation. But I think it has to do with my feelings about why I paint.

KEEPING THINGS WHOLE
Mark Strand

In a field
I am the absence
of field.
This is
always the case.
Wherever I am
I am what is missing.

When I walk
I part the air
and always
the air moves in
to fill the spaces
where my body’s been.

We all have reasons
for moving.
I move
to keep things whole.

.

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

Leave a Reply

