Ode

 

ODE to summer styles, textile arts, and keeping it fresh

 

ode

Painting on Joanna Chattman Photography for Ode Boutique 33″ x 48″

 

New work in progress for Ode’s new summer look book.  I’m thrilled to be able to work again with the lovely and inspirational women behind the design aesthetic for Ode Boutique, Joanna and Kristin in Northampton, MA.

Joanna Chattman is the photographer of these lovely photos for this upscale women’s clothing store.  She asked that I paint on the photos for their new summer styles and I couldn’t be more pleased to accept the offer/ challenge of changing up my typical style and pay more attention to patterning and shape.  I feel quite amateur at this, so this first image took me a while to figure out how to do without too badly fudging up the 33″ x 48″ print.  Well, I worked from 7am to 11am the next day and it just had to be done for today, so this is where it stands.

I love how painting this opens up my world more to collaboration with beautiful talents and the world of textile arts and color.  I was feeling very much not confident about the results, but it’s fine. I am so happy to branch out and see how this reaches into my art practice.

This friday will be Arts Night Out in Northampton.  Come play!

commissions inquiry? www.scoutrcuomo.com/c-o-m-m-i-s-s-i-o-n-s.html

shop: www.etsy.com/shop/scoutcuomo

…..

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

Leave a Reply

