Letting Go

 

 

Lately my lessons in love seem to be loose and fast.  Falling in love fast and then holding it to all standards until it cracks, brittle from the intense sunlight of my scrutiny.

Part of this art of life seems to be learning how to love better.  I have been sitting here reading over articles and blogs of people.  Just getting lost a little in the forests of online forums.  Here is a short beautiful piece written by Amber Shumake that just struck me and I just wanted to share here so that I can find it later.  I really admire her writting and sharing style.

 

You can find more of her inspired musings on her website.

The Litany of Letting Go
I.


Let me look to understand instead of to control.
Let me see my blind spots instead of pointing at yours.
Let me challenge myself to grow instead of looking to you to water my soil.
Let me love myself so much that I can’t help but love you.


II.


Let me move myself
in the direction of my own expansion, away from judgment;
toward the light that’s clinging to the shadows within and around me.


Let me reflect
so brightly on the outside that it burns
away the parts of me that feel dead inside.


III.


Let my metamorphosis move you to understand yourself.
Let my transformation open you to the ways in which you are blind.
Let my growth pluck the weeds from your rugged soil.
Let my love – for self and you and this life – inspire you to love
brighter
with more
authenticity.


IV.


Let me accept that your path may very well be different.
Let me relinquish the need to know why
Chapter III may never happen for you,
for this litany isn’t really about you.
V.
Let me let go.
IMG_0534
About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

2 comments

  1. cassie

    this is beautiful. i have been yearning for and struggling with letting go my whole clinging, collecting, sticky-fingered life. only just recently have i noticed another way – opening is a task that goes about the same work of letting go, from some opposite end. it is occurring to me that love simply is, and our work as humans is to open to it to allow its natural flow, becoming conduit, transforming ourselves and everyone we touch.

  2. I love that you said ” open to it to allow it’s natural flow” cassie, I totally hear you. thanks for sharing that.

Leave a Reply

