Ode to paper Mache

I just wanted to share the finished result of the owl sculptures that were started and completed last week for Ode.  I had never done paper mache sculptures before and I found this tutuorial by Jonnie Good on her website Ultimate Paper Mache to be so helpful.  These big guys were a lot easier to make than I thought and fun.  If you want to find out more about how to do this kind of paper mache, go check out her website to see what other projects people have going on.

///

owls

 

….

 

 

owl window display Jan. 2014

 

 

…..

 

owl7

Oh and I almost forgot to add that I actually got to hold an owl.  Well two actually. Since I owned a bird for a while, a little thing she liked was being rubbed behind her ears.  Turns out some owls like that too.  Luckily a friend took a picture of at least one that I got to see up close.

Julie Anne is the name of the woman who cares for these feathered wonders in Western Mass.  I kept thinking of her while I was making the sculptures wondering how she would feel about them.  I kept thinking she would be pretty disappointed by the result of these amature hour barn owl.  Thankfully, I was wrong.   She was so kind about them and even wanted to take one home.  I think I’m going to make one for her in hopes that I might maybe get to hold and cuddle the owl again.  I’m 12.

owl

So, now that I have put myself through a crash course on some giant sculpture making and painting enormous backdrops like the one done in a day for Joanna Chattman Photography, I’m thinking what can I do with this new found love of the set design/ window display? Let’s see 2014!

www.scoutrcuomo.com

 ….

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

Leave a Reply

