In the Midst of myself

 

30" x 30"

30″ x 30″

 

I’m not sure where I can go with this post.  I just want to nod that as the holiday season gears up and the temperature numbers drop off, I am feeling overwhelmed with many things.  I am so glad that I get to work along here in my studio working on projects, but I think that my body is telling me to just slow down.

I might…when I finish the more than a few giant pieces I’m working on and shipping out these days.  It’s difficult to feel good about things when trying to be all good things at all times.  I’m just going to share this painting that is available online for purchase titled: in the Midst of myself, because it is exactly how I feel right now.  Here I am, an abstract burning and blurring of color and light.  I feel both overwhelmed and joyous and irritable and hungry.  It’s always interesting to sit here in the midst of all of the emotional currents and shifts and observe them come and go.  Though I can’t sit in water today, I can sit in the idea of water in paint.

 

In the end I’m glad to be here, doing all I can do to do all I can do. And sometimes it aint pretty. I’m just sharing this because it’s a little plea to myself and maybe anyone who reads this and identifies with the word “workaholics”:

Be kind to yourself. Be kind to others during these times of holiday madness.  The buying frenzies and holiday feasts seem filled with a bunch of bull about what life should be like with images of buying the right things, wanting, eating, feasting, friends, the perfect relationship, family, and obligation…( fill in the blank)  It can get crazy.

We can’t have everything all the time.  But we do have a choice to be still for a moment in the midst of ourselves and just be.  Wouldn’t it be great if that was enough if even for a moment?

 

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

Leave a Reply

