Know your Garden

A few paintings arn’t shown yet.  But today marks the end of my streak of not sleeping for painting.  I completed 15 paintings for this show for Hope & Feathers in 24 days.  I had a lot of fun working with this project, I just need some time to reflect on it and think of titles.  I am trying to touch on something that fits the name of Hope & Feathers’ Gallery for whom is show is being made for.  The title originates from the Emily Dickenson poem.

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –
And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –
I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.

Emily Dickinson, “‘Hope’ is the Thing with Feathers” from The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson, edited by Thomas H. Johnson.

OIl on Cradled Birch Board 8" x 10"

OIl on Cradled Birch Board 8″ x 10″

These paintings were a a return to childlike bliss to the act of creating and exploring in paint. Lots of paint.  Really thick paint with lots of color.  It felt like a practice in kindness and Hope.

I share this creative practice, even though I’m a bit shy to do so because, this pull to do this work feels bigger than me.  I guess I think of it as my small role in the brief life of my human experience to make things with my hands in paint, charcoal, mud..ect.  This creative practice propels me into a deeper understanding of self-ness (like a true Leo). However self-centered that may at first seem, I just want to say I think it’s important for everyone to have their return to self.  This is one of the most significant ways to nurture what outside things could never  help grow.  This is not to say I don’t get SO much help from the people around me.  Especially those always willing to share their strong wisdom, intuition, and experience.  I thrive off of these daily exchanges.  I’m just also fortunate to take the night time hours to work quietly.

So, I’ll get off my soap box.  Most of this stuff ya’ll probably knew in some way or another in the quiet moments of your own life.  I’m just sharing what is one of the most rewarding experiences of bliss to watch develop in this marathon of painting.  The discipline and focus required to participate in so many paintings and so little sleep helped underline the importance of nurturing the self in order to participate with a full authentic heart in the rest of the world and the different obstacles and miracles it provides daily.

“As the teaching of the Hopi encourages, ‘Know your garden and where is your water,’ which is a way of encouraging us to become acquainted with the inner self and what nourishes it.”
~Michael Bernard Beckwith from Life Visioning: A Transformative Process for Activating Your Unique Gifts and Highest Potential

  

These paintings will be on display at Hope & Feathers in Amherst, MA.  The opening will be August 1, 2013, 5-8pm.  They will be on display for the month. Hope to see you there!

Prints will be available for purchase in my online store here.

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

Leave a Reply

