Inspiration in the Details

 

 

Keeping a daily practice is important for an artist to maintain.  This means if even for an hour a day, sit down and just draw, paint, and relax.  This method has really helped me to enjoy running back to my studio daily to keep playing with my medium.

 

….

Often it’s good to add research to you topic.  What are ways this has been depicted? What  color combinations am I not considering.  What’s fun?  Try get inspired to do some problem solving studies where you don’t get too caught up in your brain with the gear running.  I really love going to The Jealous Curator to look at what other artists are doing.  This site is an amazing place to look around and read about things I didn’t know are going on out there in other art realms.

For me this week I suddenly realized there was a depth I wasn’t getting to with the colors I was using in the skin of my figures as the light dances across the surface of water.  I got really inspired by the idea of not revealing everything to the viewer.  This meant fading some things into the background and adding some of the creatures of the water to interact with the figures.

Traveling and taking pictures has also been a great help to my daily work. Recently, I went on a 7 day sailing trip to the  Florida Keyes to enjoy the sun, but also study the interaction of figures in the coral reefs.

 

….

….

Granted, the reefs are deteriorating.  This is undeniable when you witness the dead coral littering the grounds.  Still, the hundreds of little fish swimming and stirring all around you in a deep cool ocean is inspiring.  I spent hours trying to hold my breathe and search out the small caverns of the reefs to spy on the local creatures.  Exploring the cool depths really helped me to remember to incorporate the native underwater life into my paintings because it is part of what I love about being in the water.  The ever evolving, colorful, flora and species that inhabit the ocean are astounding to witness and for a moment be a part of.

 

….

 

 

 

 

 

I think it’s helping me to do this daily work and I am thrilled to see what the people around me are doing do with their creative business practices.

 

 

…..

….

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

2 comments

  1. Your underwater paintings allow me the feeling of swimming in warm seas.

Leave a Reply

