Tiny Crush Society CRYSTALIZED

The summer has been filled with the excitement of finishing up three different installations of my work at The Cup n’ Top, Hope & Feather Gallery, & The Dirty Truth.  I though I would have a little catch-up time until my two weeks away from the Happy Valley.  However, I just couldn’t say no when Dre Rawlins asked me to do the art work for her Tiny Crush Society Dinner.  This woman is fantastic.  She has amazing energy, wit, creativity, and contagious inspiration. 

 

Dre and I met up for an hour at The Roost to think quickly about what new works I could do for her show.  She decided to take along two of the unicorn heads and install crystal paintings to festoon the walls.  So  I made her a promise between sips of wine that I would happily paint 8 new paintings in two weeks.  I love the colors you can play with among faceted surfaces.

I didn’t realize it would be as difficult as it was to time manage this project because of the incredible success of selling work from my shows and online and doing my part-time work at Popcorn Noir.  I didn’t sleep much and my body is quietly fighting off some kind of sick, but I’m blown away with the responses, sales, and new commissions I have received during the past few weeks.  It’s so nice to have people care about art and see one’s hard work really come to fruition.

What to expect from Tiny Crush Society this week, October 12th, 13th, and 14th

“Expect: Amazing and inventive food prepared with produce, cheeses, and meats from local farms + delish wine / teeny cocktails + atmospheric awesomeness + really great company! Oh, and SURPRISES. Cuz we LOVE surprises.”

The productions the Tiny Crush Society has put on in the past have been outstanding, fun, and so great at melding talents from all over the valley.  I’ll instal more information about her past events soon.

I think at this time her dinner spots have sold out, but If you’re passing by the Whoo Space on Market St. Next week I hope you get a little peek at the new crystals I’ve made recently, AND some of the sparkling decor by The Tiny Crush Society.  The crystal shown here is for sale on etsy, but  I’ll be posting more of them when I get home from my travels.

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

One comment

  1. cat

    WOW. Excited :))

Leave a Reply

