Happines is a Unicorn

Happines is a Unicorn

Image

 

 

I’ve been undertaking a project that has become bigger than me.  Every step of the way has been met with some great challenges and risk for myself.  I have learned so much along the way and found so many other things to ask question about.  It has been in the hot pursuit of happiness that I have been challenging myself to sculpt lifesize feaux taxidermy heads of Unicorns.  Orginally the theme was, “Happiness is a Unicorn.”  I don’t think I quite understood what that meant when I first heard it from Cecily a few years ago.  Today I have a better understanding.  Today I have this hollow shell of a unicorn as a tribute to our pursuits of happiness.  I try to keep happiness, store it, hoping it will be the cure for the things that suffer. Trying to capture a unicorn has been a difficult and evasive creature to render.

Here is a wonderful article in the Shambala Sun, I highly encourage you to read if you have a moment today.

….

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

2 comments

  1. Scout, this looks so good. I am blown away. But I knew you’d pull it off! xo Perry

Leave a Reply

