Cecily, you would probably hate that I am talking this in a post as it has to do with you almost dying.  But the short of it is that she had gotten cancer in her brain and she is alive today.  I know that her life has never been the same, but mind has not either since her second operation.

   We were on the phone several months after her operation and she was telling me a little but about a discussion in her support group for people who have a spectrum of brain tumors and are in different phases of their treatments and life expectancies.

   The topic had to do with finding happiness.  How do you find peace when you are in pain, with some of the most traumatic surgeries lingering ahead or pulsing beneath fresh scars?

   That week she told me, “Happiness is a Unicorn.”  It is a fictional creature that everyone has a very specific idea of what it may look like.  However, this elusive creature remains a thing of fiction.  Happiness is not a fiction, it’s just that at times it seems  a good catalyst of hope to remain open to it taking on a different             form than we would have originally expected and that like a unicorn, it is a miracle.  Happiness is tiny miracle we can give ourselves in our daily practices.

You might not be able to tell yet, but this is a mold.  A really heavy mutha mold.  I sculpted a life size head over the past months hanging out with Rosemary Barrett at the After Midnight Studios in Easthampton, MA.  She’s an incredible woman, artist, and teacher.

Many attempts and failures and retries find found me one day with a horse head sculpture.

 

 

 

….

Phew.  Then I added many skins of rubber layered on top of one another to make a thick skin mold.  After that, my new friend Heather and I built the hydrocal walls of the mold one at a time last night.  By next week, I hope to be pouring a polyeurethane resin into this mold to make many many unicorns.

Eventually some of these sculptures will be jeweled.  Some will be clear with LED lighting, soome will be bright flourescents and grays and others shiny ebony. The horn will be attached seperately after completion.

I just wanted to make Unicorns.  Not only because they’re cool and I love horses and my little ponies and glitter and myths, but because it just brought me joy.  Now, if I can get this project done within the next week, I get to share that with Cecily and others.

Keep your eyes open for some the final results.  I’m not sure if this project is going to work yet, but I can’t wait to see what happens next week.


.

…..

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

One comment

  1. Pingback: SEPTEMBER « Scout Cuomo

Leave a Reply

