just keep swimming

I’m starting to think that my life is becoming more and more about the journey and not the destination.  That might not be new to some, but i’m gettin there.  I just jumped in the pond across the street from the studio and the way that water feels crisp and surrounds your body letting it feel light and fresh is bliss.  Swimming doesn’t take you to happily ever after, it just is perfect right then.  There is no better moment,  just this one.  I keep wondering when I’ll “get there”, but every day, even the ones with the heartache and sadness and death, there were miracles.   There were these people around me with incredible strength and beauty.  There was cool damp quiet days and warm sun on my shoulders.  When I asked for help, they scooped me up.  Sometimes it feels as though my heart is about to spill over.  However, I’m pretty certain it’s just getting a bigger capacity.  Here’s to letting a little more peace in today.

Image

Today I’m working on this commission for a Mr. in Long island.  It is also not yet complete, but come Sunday it better be.  The windows are from a house constructed in the 1880’s.  On both sides of the panes I’m painting a shimmering shoal of fish swimming upwards.  I’m thinkin’ this is going to look rad in a few days, but I wanted to post it on this beauootiful Friday before I take myself back outside for some swimmin myself.

…..

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

Leave a Reply

