Working and reworking

Experimenting with three dimensional painting

This might be the 12th manifestation of this piece this week.  I’m working on a new concept project painting on panes of glass to create a three dimensional painting.  I’m not sure how much farther this image is going to go yet, but it has come a long way.  I am really struggling through this one.

 The final piece will consist of 15 panes of glass and will be on a steel table stand.  This and three large resin layered paintings are being worked on madly to instal March 3rd in the APE Gallery located in downtown Northampton, MA.  I’m a bit fried right now, but relieved that this glass piece is coming together.  I’m also surprised how her expression subtly changes as I continue to work along.  She’s almost grinning.  In other instances I’m certain she looks frightened.  I would be too if I had to be done in two weeks.  This has been a very resource comsuming project, and if I think about it hard, I’m not sure why I was so compelled to do that, but it always pushes my skill sets when I plow into the unknown.

 IMG_1269

Spatial Painting on panes of glass

30″ x 36″

Oil Paint

 

 

About scoutcuomo

Charcoal dust and eraser shavings, oil bars and sketch books, wood, gold pray paint, resin, overly soft blankets, and turpentine, feathers and coffee grinds.

4 comments

  1. I love the ghostly like look on this painting. A very mysterious and intriguing piece.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

